Little Darlings: The chilling, haunting and addictive best selling crime thriller debut everyone’s talking about

£9.9
FREE Shipping

Little Darlings: The chilling, haunting and addictive best selling crime thriller debut everyone’s talking about

Little Darlings: The chilling, haunting and addictive best selling crime thriller debut everyone’s talking about

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

After the birth of my first child, I found myself crying uncontrollably. I was exhausted, confused and afraid of absolutely everything. On top of the hormonal crash that comes after giving birth, for most people there's also the pure terror of being wholly responsible for someone else's wellbeing for the first time in your life. Unless you were previously a carer, the emotional shift that comes with knowing the responsibility falls entirely on you changes you beyond belief. McLain, Katie (2019-04-16). "50 Must-Read Spring 2019 Crime Novels". BOOK RIOT. Archived from the original on 2023-07-04 . Retrieved 2023-07-04. Making matters worse, one night an intruder breaks into her room, a very scary, ragged-looking woman, tries to take her babies, to exchange them with her own evil little monsters.

I want to thank the publisher Crooked Lane Books and Netgally for the opportunity to read this ARC! I loved so much about this book. There is a lot of the plot I am not even going to mention here as it is best to be taken off guard by it.Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Grimms’ Fairy Tales, and Aimee Molloy's The Perfect Mother. This book was amazing! I began reading and could not stop reading until I had finished it! It was a dark, twisted and unsettling read, but one I enjoyed precisely because of those factors. We follow the story of Lauren, who has just given birth to twin boys, and she keeps seing this horrible woman who wants to change babies with her. Everyone tells her she is psychotic, that the woman doesn't exist, that her babies are safe... but she keeps on seeing and hearing the woman, and weird things keep on happening around her. Overall, Little Darlings is an intense and atmospheric thriller and does a great job in combining folklore with reality, which was unique. Fans of psychological thrillers will love this one. Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

But it should be considered as a dark fiction, an adaption of Welsh fairy tale with its magical, folklore elements. A fairytale about a mother gave birth to her newborn twins who were swapped with changelings. I know this story line is already makes you say WTH! Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own... creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things. Everyone wants to dismiss her as mentally ill except Detective Sergeant Joanna Harper, who has her own reasons for believing Lauren. Against the wishes of her superiors, Harper opens her own investigation into what really happened. I was obsessed with Little Darlings. I couldn't put it down. I was reading late at night, although usually, I fall asleep early. This book forced me to read it. I desperately wanted to know what happens. Claudia was one of the few nice adults in the story and it was obvious she really cared about Sunset and her siblings.Harper - And now the part of the review where I tell you how much I related to this character. Harper is a detective who catches wind of Lauren's case. Even though it's been set aside, Harper just can't let it go and begins to do her own research. It was this determination and strong will to go against the tide that made me love Harper so much. If we ever get a sequel or companion novel, I would love to see more of her. I was definitely swept up in her thoughts and equally as much into Detective Harper's investigation. You don't need blood and gore to make a great horror story. Atmosphere, if masterfully done, will keep you creeped out and chill you to the bone.This eerie story will do that.This is done that masterfully. It will engage your mind on a wild ride and leave you so haunted, you may begin to question your own state of sanity, your own definition of sanity.

Lauren Tranter has just given birth to twins, exhausted from a prolonged labor and delivery. Curiously, she keeps over-hearing another woman behind the curtain in the next bed singing to her twins. This book is not your average thriller. No, no, no! In fact, the fact that this is grouped into the thriller genre is a bit misleading. This book leans more into the magical realism with a buttload of horror. Think Stephen King's It. In fact, I would confidently say that this book was scarier than It. Aside from the phenomenal scares, the superb characters and the spooky story made for one of the best novels I've read this year. Little Darlings is a 2010 children's novel by the best-selling British author Jacqueline Wilson. It was adapted for television by Sky UK in February 2022. Riveting, terrifying and at times heartbreaking…Melanie Golding’s disturbing portrait of a new mother’s paranoia is superbly written, cleverly plotted and gruesomely beautiful in an unforgettable way. A stunning debut.”

Featured Reviews

Oh boy, this was one scary scenario. With echoes of Grimms Fairy Tales, ‘Little Darlings’ will probably give you sleepless nights along with the protagonist! Lauren is truly terrified for the majority of this book and that really got under my skin. The writing used to illicit that feeling was so strong. Lauren Tranter is a new mother to twin boys. As many new moms do, Lauren struggles upon her return home from the hospital after giving birth. She is exhausted, she is constantly feeding her babies, she can’t find time for a shower, she can’t possibly think of finding a way to venture out of the house with the boys to get groceries. Her husband works a lot and pushes Lauren to get out of the house with the twins to refresh and reacquaint herself with society. Lauren’s first venture outside ends with a traumatic afternoon that changes her family forever. Sutherland, Doris V. (2019-11-26). "Changeling Times: Melanie Golding's Little Darlings". WWAC. Archived from the original on 2023-07-04 . Retrieved 2023-07-04. Lizzie Shaw (also referred to as Big Mouth) Danny's new girlfriend who he met at the Milky Star premier. She is an actress who is also in the film. Sunset, Sweetie and Ace all hate her but Suzy even more so as she is very protective of Danny and despises Lizzie very much.

There are two levels to the horror in this novel. The first is the tangible, physical horror. Golding’s prose actually brought me to a stage of nausea as I read the descriptions of what was being done to Lauren’s body. She no longer possesses any sense of agency over her own body. The medical personnel do what they want when they want, ignoring her pleas and her pain. A common childbirth experience that quite a few of my friends share is this sense of being treated like a mere vessel. They even get reprimanded for not being strong or tough enough to bear the pain.A psychological thriller, readers have a chance to determine how to interpret a story that can be told in many ways. Golding's talent sits in the ability to walk a fine line of confusion and power. We will all feel differently, yet it's the same words and story. Which part will you connect to? Definitely worth a read, you'll find hidden gems in the life lessons and fairy tale history we learn along the path. I recommend it for those looking for something a little different than the normal family drama. Qwill. "Interview with Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings". Archived from the original on 2023-07-04 . Retrieved 2023-07-04. If I had one con to point out in this story it would be with the narrative for Detective Harper. Her personal relationship with the reporter is distracting and adds nothing towards advancement the plot. This novel has supernatural aspects that were handled skillfully and believably. Supernatural elements are usually a turn-off for me, but they were presented in such an intriguing and fascinating way, that I was completely drawn into the plot and invested in the characters. Mr Roberts – Destiny's teacher who is in charge of the talent show. He can be a firm character occasionally, but he shows care for Destiny when she succeeds, and even becomes ever so slightly emotional after her beautiful singing.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop